Community Advisory Council

Einstein’s Community Advisory Council was established in 2003 to act as liaison for and foster open communications between the medical school and its surrounding communities. The membership consists of elected officials or their representatives, leaders of civic and religious organizations and community associations, neighborhood activists and individuals representing the Einstein administration. Currently serving as co-chairs are the Honorable Douglas McKeon, presiding justice of the Appellate Term of the Supreme Court of the State of New York for the First Judicial Department, and Nathan Kahn, a member of the Einstein Board of Overseers.

Council meetings typically consist of Einstein staff members making presentations on topics including school infrastructure, funding issues and health care public policy trends. A presentation about a specific health topic affecting residents and the local community also is made by one the College of Medicine’s top directors or researchers.

Council members are given the opportunity to ask questions and raise concerns about how specific projects and conditions may affect Morris Park and surrounding areas. The goal is to create an ongoing dialogue that helps to prevent conflicts and insures a smooth relationship between Einstein and its neighboring community, consisting largely of small businesses and homeowners.



Judge Douglas McKeon


Albert D’Angelo
Local community leader
Member, Bronx Community Board 11

Ben Celaj
Local community leader

Cecilia DeBrino Haas, M.S., CFM
Administrator, Facilities Management, Einstein

Desiree Meighan
Community Resident, Jacobi Medical Center

Anthony Vitaliano
Chair, Bronx Community Board 11

Elana Schwartz
Staff member, Congressman Joe Crowley

Jeremy Warneke
District Manager, Community Board # 11

Joseph Furgiuele
Chief, Laboratory Services, Jacobi Medical Center

Renee Motmontimy
Chief of Staff, Assemblyman Mark Gojnaj

Dana Carotenuto
Deputy Chief of Staff, State Senator Jeff Klein

Manuel Sanchez
Local Attorney, Community Resident; Unaffiliated

Peter Caliendo
Community Resident

Sal Conforto
Community Resident

Silvio Mazzella
Local community leader
President, Morris Park Community Association

William Clancy
Local Business Leader