2022 Physician Awards Recipients

The Department of Medicine is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 Physician Awards.

Jay Dobkin, M.D.

Jay Dobkin, M.D.

Distinguished Clinician

Jay Dobkin, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine (Pulmonary Medicine)

The Distinguished Clinician Award recognizes a physician in the Department of Medicine for excellence in clinical care, including diagnostic acumen, clinical judgment, knowledge, professionalism, and physician-patient relationships.

William Southern, M.D., M.S.

William Southern, M.D., M.S.


William Southern, M.D., M.S.
Professor of Medicine (Hospital Medicine)
Chief, Division of Hospital Medicine

The Citizenship Award recognizes a physician in the Department of Medicine who exemplifies the highest standards of departmental and institutional service, and who inspires others to contribute to the collective success of the department and the medical center.

Jay Dobkin, M.D.

Brianna L. Norton, D.O.

Humanism in Medicine

Brianna Norton, D.O., Associate Professor of Medicine (General Internal Medicine)

The Humanism in Medicine Award aims to recognize a physician who displays exceptional compassion and sensitivity in caring for patients, their families, and healthcare colleagues. This award is presented to a physician in the Department of Medicine who demonstrates integrity, excellence, collaboration and compassion, altruism, respect and resilience, empathy, and service—qualities that the Gold Foundation believes characterizes humanism.

Beth N. McLellan, M.D.

Beth N. McLellan, M.D.

Mid-Career Excellence

Beth McLellan, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine (Dermatology)
Chief, Division of Dermatology

The Mid-Career Excellence Award is presented to a physician whose commitment, dedication, experience, and expertise has resulted in substantive, sustained contributions to clinical medicine, research, and/or education.

Shivani Agarwal, M.D.

Shivani Agarwal, M.D.

Rising Star

Shivani Agarwal, M.D. 
Assistant Professor of Medicine (Endocrinology)

The Rising Star Award is given to an early-career physician who is acknowledged to have the most potential to make future significant contributions as a clinician, researcher, and/or educator.


“All are so deserving. It was a tough decision,” says Elizabeth Kitsis, M.D., vice chair of medicine for faculty affairs and professionalism, and a member of the awards committee. Yaron Tomer, M.D., chair of the Department of Medicine agrees. “The award recipients and all our nominees exemplify the best in medicine. Their contributions, commitment, dedication, and compassion are admirable and make them role models for all of us. Congratulations and thank you!”

All are so deserving. It was a tough decision.

Elizabeth Kitsis, M.D.

The awards will be presented and all nominees and physicians in the department will be honored at a celebration on May 19, 2022, from 6 to 8:00 p.m., at the New York Botanical Garden

Special thanks to the DOM Awards Committee: Michael Bogaisky, M.D.; Marla Keller, M.D.; Elizabeth Kitsis, M.D.; Keron Lezama, M.D.; Hector Perez, M.D.; Amanda Raff, M.D.; Divya Reddy, M.B.B.S., M.P.H.; and Jeffrey Weiss, M.D.

Photo Gallery

  • Image 1
  • Image 2
  • Image 3
  • Image 4
  • Image 6
  • Image 7
  • Image 11
  • Image 12
  • Image 9
  • Image 8
  • Image 5