Postdoctoral Studies

Dennis Shields Awards for Outstanding Postdoctoral Research

Awards Description

The Dennis Shields Awards for Outstanding Postdoctoral Research were established in 2004 to honor and acknowledge the contributions made by postdoctoral fellows to research at Albert Einstein College of Medicine. The awards are based on published research done at Einstein, and are selected by the Einstein Awards Committee. Each year, at a special ceremony, two postdoctoral fellows are each awarded a $5,000 prize and have the opportunity to present an overview of their research to their colleagues and faculty. 

The Dennis Shields Awards ceremony is held in conjunction with a poster session at which Einstein postdoctoral fellows present their work to their colleagues and the faculty. The five best poster presentations are selected by the Belfer Institute Advisory Committee, and these postdoctoral fellows receive an award of $500 toward any future scientific meeting, career development activities, laboratory supplies/reagents, or books and software.

The Postdoctoral Research Awards are named in honor of Dr. Dennis Shields, an internationally renowned professor at Einstein whose work focused on the biochemical mechanisms of regulated secretion from the Golgi. Dr. Shields was the first director of the Belfer Institute, which oversees postdoctoral life at Einstein. He was remarkable for his love and enthusiasm for biomedical research as well as his commitment to improving the quality of postdoctoral education at Einstein.

2022 Dennis Shields Awardees
Dr. Ashleigh Paparella, Department of Biochemistry
Dr. Emmanouil Zacharioudakis, Department of Biochemistry


Past Ceremonies and Symposiums

Poster Session 2019

Ceremony 2019