Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

11th Annual Musculoskeletal Repair and Regeneration Symposium - Virtual Event

Date : October 27, 2022

 Download the brochure here. 


The Albert Einstein College of Medicine and Montefiore Medical Center Musculoskeletal Repair and Regeneration Symposium continues to seek and expand the knowledge base within the field, and to foster creativity, collaboration and networking between researchers throughout the region. This year’s meeting will emphasize recent advances in translational research in the following areas:

   • Bone   

   • Mechanobiology of Musculoskeletal Regeneration 

   • Osteoarthritis and Cartilage Regeneration 


This program attempts to address current issues in musculoskeletal repair and regeneration, and disease treatment. The presentations and discussions will focus on up-to-date scientific discoveries and the potential impact of these findings on patient treatment and management in the future.  This meeting features

      • 9 outstanding speakers from the United States and Europe

      • Lightening e-poster sessions and Young Investigator Award session


Deadline: October 24, 2022 

Please register online at: 


Registration is free.  Early registration is highly recommended.

An email with the information to virtually join the meeting will be sent to the registrants’ email prior to meeting. Please note that only those who registered will be granted access.


8:00 – 8:10 am  

Introduction and acknowledgements   

Mia M. Thi, PhD  

Opening remarks   

Neil J. Cobelli, MD  


Session 1 – Bone Health: Regenerative Medicine and Beyond 

Steering chair: Yi-Xian Qin, PhD
8:10 – 8:15 am Introduction

Yi-Xian Qin, PhD

State University of New York at Stony Brook
8:15 – 8:35 am     

The microbiome and bone strength 

Christopher Hernandez, PhD

Cornell University 

8:35 – 8:55 am

A new injury-responsive cell population in the musculoskeletal system 

Ugur Ayturk, PhD

Hospital for Special Surgery
8:55 - 9:15 am

3D printed bioresorbable metallic scaffolds for bone regeneration 

Donghui (Don) Zhu, PhD

State University of New York at Stony Brook 

9:15 - 9:25  Discussion / Conclusions 

 9:25 – 9:35 am BREAK 


Session 2 – Mechanobiology of Musculoskeletal Regeneration 

Steering chair: Woojin Han, PhD
9:35  - 9:40 am  Introduction
Woojin Han, PhD
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
9:40  -  10:00 am Cilia-Regulated mechanotransduction in tendon enthesis

Fei Fang, PhD

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

10:00 - 10:20 am


Whasil Lee, PhD

University of Rochester
10:20 - 10:40 am  TBA 

Sarah Calve, PhD

University of Colorado
10:40 - 10:50 am Discussion / Conclusions  
10:50 – 11:00 am BREAK  

e-Poster Session

11:00 am : 12:30 pm Concurrent Lightning e-Poster Sessions
12:30 – 12:40 pm  BREAK 

Session 3 – Osteoarthritis and Cartilage Regeneration 

Steering chair: Chuanju Liu, PhD 
12:40 - 12:45 pm Introduction

Chuanju Liu, PhD

NYU Grossman School of Medicine
12:45 -1:05 pm


Li Zeng, PhD

Tufts University
1:05 - 1:25 pm


Véronique Lefebvre, PhD

Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
1:25 - 1:45 pm


Nidhi Bhutani, PhD

Stanford University School of Medicine
1:45 - 1:55 pm  
Discussion / Conclusions

1:55 – 2:05 pm BREAK 


Young Investigator Awards  
Chair: Zeynep Seref-Ferlengez, PhD  


 2:05 – 2:15 pm Young Investigator Awards
Hosted by: Young Investigator Award Committee

Closing Remarks 

 2:15 pm  
Closing remarks
Neil J. Cobelli, MD 


We invite investigators to submit abstracts for the virtual lightening e-poster session, which is an important component of this conference.


Abstracts from graduate and medical students, residents and postdoctoral fellows will be considered for Young Investigator Awards and Clinical Young Investigator Award. Four winners, three from Young Investigator category and one from Clinical Young Investigator category will be announced and each will be presented with a prize and a plaque.  To qualify, you must register and submit an abstract to Dr. Zeynep Seref-Ferlengez, the chair of the Poster Session and Young Investigator Award committee, by September 28, 2022 via email to:


The abstract is limited to 1 page. Include in your abstract the study's objective, a brief statement of methods, a summary of the results obtained, conclusions, and significance. Please follow the abstract template. 

Due to concurrent poster sessions, each presenter can present only one poster. If you have multiple posters, please assign one of your co-authors for presentation

As the Symposium aims to promote communication within our region, we encourage you to submit your recent work (within 2021) to this Symposium, including work that may have been submitted to other meetings.

Please note: Two PowerPoint slides with 2 minutes audio must be submitted for all accepted posters by October 17, 2022.  


Important Deadlines: 


Abstract Submission : September 28, 2022

Poster Submission    : October 17, 2022



 Mia M. Thi, PhD 

• Woojin Han, PhD

• Chuanju Liu, PhD

• Yi-Xian Qin, PhD

• Michael Detamore, PhD   
• Susannah Fritton, PhD

• Mary Goldring, PhD

• Steven Goldring, MD

• Ed Guo, PhD

• John Hardin, MD

• David Hirsh, MD

• James Iatridis, PhD

• Lionel Ivashkiv, MD

• Thorsten Kirsch, PhD

• Catherine Kuo, PhD
• Chuanju Liu, PhD

• Helen Lu, PhD

• Jeremy Mao, DDS, PhD

• Steven Nicoll, PhD

• Maurizio Pacifici, PhD

• Nicola Patridge, PhD

• Clinton Rubin, PhD

• Yi-Xian Qin, PhD

• Mitchell Schaffler, PhD

• David Spray, PhD

• Stavros Thomopoulos, PhD                              


Chair: Zeynep Seref-Ferlengez, PhD 
Co-chairs :

• Leila Alvandi, PhD     
• Ugur Ayturk, PhD

• David Corr, PhD

• X. Edward Guo, PhD

• David Hirsh, MD

• Bang Hoang, PhD

• Robert Majeska, PhD

• Yi-Xian Qin, PhD

• Sylvia Suadicani, PhD                      


Mia M. Thi, PhD – Program Director

Neil J. Cobelli – University Chairman


Mia M. Thi, PhD 
Program Director
P: 718-430-3460

Zeynep Seref-Ferlengez, PhD
Chair, Poster Session and Young Investigator Award Committee
 P: 929-246-6352