Graduate Programs in the Biomedical Sciences


Distinguished Ph.D. Alumni Award Recipients

The Distinguished Einstein Ph.D. Alumnus Award recognizes outstanding accomplishments in biomedical science, biotechnology, and/or professional leadership in advancing biomedical research for the benefit of humankind.


Ruth Muschel

2022 Distinguished Ph.D. Alumnus Recipient

Ruth Muschel, M.D., Ph.D. '78
Emeritus Professor of Molecular Pathology
Department of Oncology
University of Oxford, U.K



2016 Distinguished Ph.D. Alumnus Recipient

Sue Wickner, Ph.D. '73
Head, DNA Molecular Biology Section 
Distinguished Investigator, National Institutes of Health



2015 Distinguished Ph.D. Alumnus Recipient

Toby Tucker Hecht, Ph.D. '73
Deputy Director, Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis, National Cancer Institute,
National Institutes of Health

Danny Reinberg

2014 Distinguished Ph.D. Alumnus Recipient

Danny Reinberg, Ph.D. '82
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Professor, Department of Biochemistry, New York University School of Medicine

Nita J. Maihle

2013 Distinguished Ph.D. Alumnus Recipient

Nita J. Maihle, Ph.D. '83
Associate Cancer Center Director, UMMC Cancer Center and Research Institute (Jackson, MS)
Professor of Cell & Molecular Biology and Medicine, UMMC (University of Mississippi Medical Center)

2012 Distinguished Ph.D. Alumnus Recipient

Roy S. Wu, Ph.D. '73
Associate Branch Chief, Clinical Grants and Contracts Branch (CGCB), CTEP/NCI
National Institutes of Health

Charles S. Peskin

2011 Distinguished Ph.D. Alumnus Recipient

Charles S. Peskin, Ph.D. '72
Silver Professor; Professor of Mathematics Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences
New York University

Lucy Shapiro

2010 Distinguished Ph.D. Alumnus Recipient

Lucy Shapiro, Ph.D. '66
Professor, Department of Developmental Biology and Director, Beckman Center for Molecular and Genetic Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine

Carl Franzblau

2009 Distinguished Ph.D. Alumnus Recipient

Carl Franzblau, Ph.D. '62
Professor and Chairman of the Department of Biochemistry and Associate Dean of the Division of Graduate Medical Sciences
Boston University School of Medicine

S. Lawrence Zipursky

2008 Distinguished Ph.D. Alumnus Recipient

S. Lawrence Zipursky, Ph.D. '81
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Distinguished Professor, Biological Chemistry, University of California, Los Angeles, David Geffen School of Medicine

Joan Heller Brown

2007 Distinguished Ph.D. Alumnus Recipient

Joan Heller Brown, Ph.D. '73
Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology
University of California, San Diego School of Medicine

Click here to log in
height: 250px !important; background-image: url(/images/education/phd/bg/bg-apply.png);